What is RPL?

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is a way for someone who has knowledge and skills, which have been got through experience, to gain credits towards a qualification.

Through RPL, you could earn credit for a few unit standards or a full qualification. These have to be SAQA accredited. RPL recognises any relevant learning you have, whether it is from formal training, workplace experience, or general life experience.

How to go about it

  • Choose the qualification you want to apply for.  
  • Contact the educational institution to find out if you can apply for recognition for your experience. 
  • You will be told which unit standards are required and you then apply.
  • There is a fee for the assessment.
  • You are then assessed to show your competence.
  • At the end of the assessment, you are given credits for the learning that you have been able to show.

NOTE: Not all training institutions offer RPL. You can also approach a SETA and ask them for assistance. Click here for a list of SETAs 

EXAMPLE: Imagine you have been working in a Food manufacturing environment for 5 years. You believe you know as much as the rookie with a Diploma in Supply Chain Management. One of the unit standards could be: Manage and control raw materials  (SAQA US ID 377600)

This is ONE unit standard among many in this Level 6 qualification. It is worth 25 credits. If you can show the assessor that you know how to manage and control raw materials (there are sub-criteria to this), you can achieve this sub-qualification.

Click here for the Unit Standard and all the Assessment criteria